Laundry, Laundry, Potty Training, and Labor?

I have decided, dear readers, that I will be banning laundry baskets in our home. Why? I am more likely to fold the laundry as it comes out of the dryer if I don’t have a laundry basket to toss it in. I have done two loads so far this way, and it’s just a lot simpler. So I will finish the existing pile of laundry, then put away the folded clothes that are already in the baskets (I folded them, I just haven’t put them away).

Our youngest is, after a series of good starts and bad regressions, finally coming around to the idea of being potty trained. She did have two accidents today…she pooped her big girl pants at Nana’s, and then peed on her bed when we got home. And rather than getting discouraged, I cheerfully informed her that accidents happen and at least she pooped again on the potty, and at least today she got a big milestone under her belt…she survived her first car ride without the diaper! I try to downplay the accidents. They happen. I try to focus on the good, because I’m going to have a new baby soon, and I don’t want her regressing, so I try to impress upon her that the progress she is making is far more important to me than any accidents she may have.

I’m of the kid-led potty training school of thought. I never forced the girls to go on the toilet. I waited for them to express an interest in it. I had a book called “How to Potty Train in 3 Days”. I read it, then tossed it. I read study after study that showed that forcing children to potty train before they’re remotely ready was linked to an increase in night time bedwetting. Our oldest was potty trained by the time she was 3 1/2. I know, I know, I shouldn’t brag about it because I didn’t have my precious snowflake trained at 9 months, or even a year or two…but she’s never wet the bed. Ever. She did, at the beginning, have a couple accidents where she peed herself…right in front of the toilet, because she didn’t make it in time. And our youngest has had a couple accidents here and there, but she is adamant that she wants to be a big girl, so I allow her to make her mistakes…they help her learn, and hopefully she won’t have any night time accidents once we eventually move her to wearing big girl pants at night. As of right now, she’s still in a diaper at night, because this recent progression is only a week old, but already I’m definitely seeing a difference in the amount of diapers I buy!

I definitely hope that this trend continues, and that she continues to make such good leaps and bounds. Now…on to the reason you probably clicked on this entry to begin with…the Labor part of my title…

I have been having contractions. Not Braxton Hicks. Real contractions, confirmed by my doctor. I spent a week at 30 minutes apart, nearly a week at 20 minutes apart, a few days at 15 mins apart, and for the past few days they have been holding steady at 10 minutes apart. I am stuck in early labor. Yay.

I am hoping that I have the energy to last through…I don’t get a break. I know this because I’ve gotten up in the middle of the night to pee and had them. I wake up in the morning and I’m tired like I didn’t sleep at all. I think it would be all fine and dandy if this were my first child, or even my second, as my oldest is in school…but with two, and one a very high maintenance three year old, I’m exhausted! I don’t know how the other moms do it! Well, I do, because somehow I’m doing it too…but definitely tiring work!

I think it’s time for me to go to bed…I have to be up early in the morning to get my scholar off to school! Also, proud parent moment…She’s reading very well!!!

3 responses to “Laundry, Laundry, Potty Training, and Labor?

  1. With havin so much written content do you ever run into any problems of plagorism or copyright violation? My website has a lot of completely unique content I’ve either written myself or outsourced but it appears a lot of it is popping it up all over the internet without my permission. Do you know any ways to help prevent content from being ripped off? I’d really appreciate it.

  2. Me and my husband appreciate your time into this. Really nice article! Your style is so refreshing in comparison to most other writers. Thanks for writing when you get the chance to, I will be sure to subscribe!

Leave a Reply

