Quinoa & Zucchini w/Mushrooms (Gluten Free!)

I had some leftover zucchini and some mushrooms that had to be used, so I was originally going to just sautee them together, throw on some sundried tomatoes, and call it a day….but I got to thinking. I have a bag of quinoa from when I was trying to incorporate some food that’s actually good for me into my diet. Quinoa is a good source of protein, and many vegetarians utilize it as a source of protein for their meat-free dishes. I had prepared plain quinoa one day, and it was horrid. I hated it.

Not one to like letting things go to waste, I wondered…would the quinoa taste better when cooked with something? Short answer… YES!

You will need:
2 zucchini, sliced 1/4 inch thick and quartered
9 medium sized mushrooms (see picture, I’m sure you could use other types), stems removed and heads sliced
1 Tblsp chopped garlic
2/3 cup quinoa
1/2 cup sundried tomatoes
sea salt, to taste

Prep time: 10-15 mins
Cook time: 25-30 mins
Serves 4.

Rinse quinoa until water runs clear. Pour 1 1/3 cup of water into pot and add quinoa. Bring to a boil, reduce heat and let simmer 20-25 minutes until water is gone and the quinoa has released its germ (small white curly looking thing). You can always add more water if needed, but add it a little at a time, you aren’t making soup here.

In large saucepan with a little bit of water (barely coating bottom of pan) throw in zucchini and garlic. Steam until zucchini starts to get translucent, add in mushrooms and sundried tomatoes (I added a Tblsp of butter, but it really isn’t needed. I just love butter). Cook on low until water is gone, sautee in butter (if you want, again, not needed). Add in quinoa and stir well.

The final product isn’t exactly some goregeous dish you’d find at Le Bec Fin, but it sure is tasty!!!

2 responses to “Quinoa & Zucchini w/Mushrooms (Gluten Free!)

  1. Pingback: Weight Loss, Diets, and the SAHM | ...and Baby Makes Five...

  2. Pingback: Tilapia w/White Wine Lemon Sauce | ...and Baby Makes Five...

Leave a Reply

