Easy Homemade Sangria

I love Sangria, and one day I was craving it, and around here, the only place you can really get it is at a restaurant. So I figured, it’s just fruit soaking in wine, yeah? I can totally make my own! Well, I don’t know if what I made counts as true sangria, but it sure was yummy!

You will need:
4 Mandarin Oranges
1 Pear, very ripe
4 strawberries
Red wine (I used Burgundy)

Prep time: 5 minutes
Soak time: 24 hours
Serves: Well, here’s the thing…it filled my wine glass to the brim twice. Take from that what you will. I was rather distracted, I wasn’t sure it would actually turn out good, and I originally had no plans whatsoever to post it here, so I didn’t measure it.

Cut two mandarins in half and juice them. Pour the juice into a container. Quarter the other two mandarins and toss into the container. Cut up pear into slices (cubes would probably imbue more of the pear flavor into the wine) and toss into container. Cut up strawberries (discarding tops, of course) and toss in container. Pour in wine until fruit is about 1 inch under wine. Place in fridge (or leave out, whatever you feel like doing, I chilled it) for 24 hours, strain out fruit, pour wine in glass and enjoy.

Leave a Reply

