Ham & Lentil Soup

I feel I should warn you…You might want to halve this recipe. It makes a MASSIVE amount of soup…MASSIVE! When I make soup, I make it in HUGE batches and freeze what I don’t need for later. Unless you want to do the same, I suggest cutting this recipe in half. This is one of my more time intensive recipes, and I cooked it on my stove in a huge soup pot, though I am sure this can easily be done in a large slow cooker. I don’t have a slow cooker. šŸ˜¦ This is also a very non-specific recipe, I will try to have measurements where I can.

Note: Mister has helpfully pointed out that I forgot to add that the broth possibly may be very strong. If this is the case and it is too salty and there is not enough broth, simply add some water to your desired taste. I didn’t salt or pepper mine at all and it still came out very strong, simply from the ham.

You will need:
4lb ham, bone-in
2 large cans chicken broth (if you are aiming for gluten-free, make sure the broth is gluten-free)
1 1/2 cup lentils
2 cups pearled barley (if you are making this gluten-free, leave out the barley)
2 carrots, sliced
2 celery stalks, sliced
1 medium onion, chopped
salt and pepper to taste (it’s very likely you won’t need any)

Prep time: 30 minutes
Cook time: 12 hours (seriously)
Yields: A lot.

Take the ham and cut off bone, leaving a bit in the bone. Dice ham into about 1 inch cubes, toss into large soup pot, along with ham bone. Pour chicken broth until all ham is submerged under about 1 inch of broth. Cook on low for about 3 hours or until meat falls off ham bone, remove ham bone and add lentils (dry, unsoaked). Bring to full boil, then reduce heat to low and simmer for 6 hours, add in barley. You might need to add more chicken broth at this point. If you do, bring to a boil, then reduce heat to low and simmer for 2 hours. Add in carrots, celery and onion, simmer for one more hour and serve. Freeze leftovers.

Leave a Reply

