An Open Letter to KCAP…

Hello, Kansas City Attachment Parenting Forums! *wave* I see you there, all the traffic I’m getting from you is amazing. Thank you.

But I have to admit, I’m a curious type of gal. When I get nearly 100 page views from your forum alone, I get to wondering. What are theyย saying? Have I offended someone? Do they like what they read?

I’m not one of those bloggers that doesn’t care. I care if I offend people, especially where it was not intended. Alas, I cannot see the forum post that is sending me so much traffic, so I can’t see which blog entry has y’all talking.

So I registered. And waited for my activation email. And waited. And waited.

You see, I like discussion. I’m not a troll. I don’t judge people for parenting their children differently than I. I am merely curious as to what’s being said. Spirited discussions are like…well….they’re like a fine wine. As a SAHM, I don’t get to socialize much. I’m trying to change that, and I’d love to at least see what you have to say. Is it my post on the TIME article? I defended all moms. I sincerely hope it didn’t offend, because that wasn’t my intent.

Allow me to at least see the discussion, and if I’m under fire for something (I hope I’m not!!), allow me to calmly defend myself. I’m not based in Kansas City, but you’re sending me a lot of traffic and I think it’d be really cool of you to at least let me lurk. I’m pretty nice once you get to know me. I’m not a bitch, I promise. I don’t judge or think differently of AP’ers. I actually admire some of the aspects of it.

But if not, that’s cool too. But yeah, thanks for the traffic, and have a great day!

Sincerely,
Merry

PS…the account id I registered is themerrywench. But I assume you already guessed it was me. ๐Ÿ™‚

14 responses to “An Open Letter to KCAP…

  1. Hi there *waving back*. We’re not talking about you, I assure you. Actually, here’s what happened. See, I am Christina…long time KCAP mama and owner of Natural Newborn. This month’s Conscious Box is my first big marketing effort to spread the word about my products and I’ve been quite excited to see where this all will go. And when I saw a visit to my website through your blog, I found your blog review of this month’s Conscious Box…so I was sharing that with my personal inner circle of local AP mamas. See…they are my rock. They are so great about loving and supporting me and I share just about everything with them.

    So there you have it! I was really excited to see your review of Conscious Box and mention of my Bug Stopper Soap that I posted a link for all of my friends to see. That’s probably not nearly as exciting as you had anticipated…but that’s what it is.

    (Although, one of the mamas that posed for the Time breastfeeding article just happens to also be a long-time member of KCAP. ๐Ÿ˜‰ )

    Off to read your post about the Time article now!

  2. Angeliina Lawson

    I am here to support another KCAP’er and her products that you reviewed on the Conscience Box post. I love the The Natural Newborn Bug Stopper Soap!! We love supporting our own, especially when she has made some really good stuff ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. I’m so glad that you have such supportive friends, Christina!! And like I said, I haven’t had the chance to try the Bug Stopper Soap yet, but mosquitoes have been bad here in Jersey so far this summer, so maybe over the weekend I will wash up my oldest before she plays outside!

    The admin doesn’t have to approve my registration request, lol…I was more worried about accidentally offending anyone than anything else, haha! ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Hi! I’m another of your traffic from KCAP, here to enjoy your blog because of Christina’s product! I actually searched out several of these products based on your reviews ๐Ÿ˜€ We have all enjoyed what we read!

    KCAP is basically a mom’s group (though we have some dads there, too) that is a board for local meetups, etc. No one offended, don’t worry!

  5. Another kcap’er that has visited your site thanks to Christina ๐Ÿ™‚ I am loving what I have read so far!

  6. Nope, no offending was done. I’d love to hear what you think of the Bug Stopper Soap after you get a chance to try it though. Thanks for your review and sending people my way. ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. Hi! We at KCAP were so excited to see the first Conscious Box review! I just read your Time Magazine article and I like it too. I wonder how many other sites we’ve blasted with 100+ hits that never posted an open letter and always wondered about us. That probably explains a decent number of the people who register to join from other states that we never approve assuming they are spammy. haha

  8. Hahaha! As a fellow blogger with a very thin skin I soooooo empathise with this post. LOVE it. So glad you had the courage to ask. And happy they answered, too. ๐Ÿ˜€

  9. Another KCAPer here. ๐Ÿ™‚ I love your blog post thanks for the warm welcome!

  10. Another KCAP Mom here – to say thanks for your reviews. Christina of the Natural Newborn is a fantastic Momma who makes some really great products. And KCAP is a great group of people. We aren’t just a message board group, we are a ‘real world’ community who uses the message board just to stay in contact. Might make us seem exclusive, but we really aren’t – we just emphasize the face-to-face meetups which is a great thing in this increasingly digital world. And I wanted to say your entire review made me even more curious about conscious box, so thanks so much for the detail! You will love the bug stopper!

  11. Pingback: The Natural Newborn – Bug Stopper Soap « …and Baby Makes Five…

Leave a Reply

