Who I am…

Another blogger group challenge…I am supposed to tell you who I am…We all know I am a mom and, for all intents and purposes, a wife.

But I am also so much more.

I am a sister. I have four brothers and two sisters. I am the second of my mother’s children, the firstĀ of my father’s children. I have an older brother who was given up for adoption by my mother when she was 16. I have only met him a few times, and I hate to say it, it wasn’t like a Hallmark moment when I was like “This is my brother”. He is, to me, a stranger. I am ashamed that I really don’t feel a familial connection to him. My next youngest brother is 11 months younger than me, and is my father’s only son. He is my proverbial Irish twin, and even his wife says our twin-like tendencies are freaky. I love all of my siblings, but he’s the one who understands me the best. Next is my brother by my mother, who is 2 1/2 years younger than me. He’s the comedian, the one I can count on to make me laugh when I feel like crap. He loves Batman and Scarface, and is the father of my nephew (who I shall call Batboy, because of his father’s love for Batman), who is 6 months younger than SchoolGirl. Next is my oldest sister, my father’s middle daughter, who is 4 1/2 years younger than me and is the mother of my nephew (I’ll call him SistersBaby, because he’s well, still a baby). Then comes my other sister (by my father), who lives out west with her fiance. She was placed for adoption and was adopted by a wonderful couple who has done a wonderful job giving my sister the life and love she deserves. I will be seeing her again in September. Last but not least is my BabyBrother, my mother’s youngest child. He is 10 1/2 years younger than me. I have been toting him around on my hip since he was born, and our relationship is at times, more maternal than sisterly.

I am a daughter. I am the child of Mike and Grace. I was conceived towards the end of their relationship, and they split before I was born.

My stance on important issues often walks the grey area. I am a firm supporter of gay rights, including the right to marry. People argue that they shouldn’t get married because the Bible says it’s Adam and Eve, not Adam and Steve, and Amuurricuh was founded on Christian principles dagnabbit. You’re wrong. Many of the Founding Fathers, though Christian, were firm believers in the separation of church and state. To deny rights afforded to even atheists on the principle that it’s a crime against God is specious. God has no place in government, and while you may not personally agree with gay marriage, unfortunately, there is no legal basis for the denial of those rights. I actually knew an Adam and Steve. They were the kindest people I knew, and if anyone deserved to get married, it was them.

On the subject of abortion…I am personally against it. It’s never been a choice for me. I don’t agree with it, I think it’s murder. BUT…and that is a very big but…(I like big buts and I cannot lie), I will not tell another woman she can’t get one. If asked, I might say why she probably shouldn’t…(only if asked by that woman for my honest opinion), but I will also tell her that in the end, it is her choice, and I have no right to tell her what to do with her uterus. Some religious factions consider my birth control to be infanticide, as it prevents implantation. But my three children can attest to the fact that where there is a will, there is a way. I know women who have been raped, and aborted their babies. I know women who have kept those babies, and been wonderful, loving mothers to them. It is not for me to say what a woman can and cannot do. It’s just not an option for me. Unless my life was in imminent danger, absolutely confirmed and reconfirmed. I have three children outside of my body who need their mother, and if my life was in danger by going through with a pregnancy, yes, I would terminate so that I could stick around for my three children who exist outside my uterus. Does that make me a hypocrite? You might say so, and I might agree with you. It’s a delicate, emotionally charged issue that I really don’t think has a right or wrong answer. But if abortion were to be outlawed, women would just get back-alley abortions anyways, and the outcomes from those are sketchy. A lot of women died having botched abortions.

I have faith, but I am not religious. I believe nearly every religion has some aspects of life, faith, and morality right. Almost every religion has had extremists kill or injure in the name of their God. I don’t think god likes that. Don’t get me started on those Westboro arses. I believe we should all love our fellow man, and I believe that we should accept them for WHO they are, not be biased based on WHAT they are.

I think I covered it all. I hope.

Leave a Reply

