The Doctor is In…

I’ve been MIA here for what seems forever…I know it hasn’t been, but in the online world, a week may as well be a year.

We’ve all been sick. All of us. Mister, ToddlerGirl, SchoolGirl, BabyBoy, and myself. I’m surprised the cats didn’t get sick. And we all know how it works when the household gets sick. You are suddenly the nurse whose sole mission it is to get everyone back to health. It’s daunting. I pulled out every remedy, every medication, you name it, I did it to get everyone healthy again. I medicated myself with herbal teas, a couple shots of NyQuil, and plenty of coffee. I saved the good remedies for everyone else, and now I have an ear infection.

The Mister is finally starting to feel slightly better, and I finally regained my sense of smell yesterday (who thought I’d be happy to smell a fart?), only to lose it again this morning. But the worst…the very worst…are sick children. You feel so helpless when your kid is sick. You can’t dose your youngins up with NyQuil and let them sleep it off. There are very few effective options out there for children. You know that the stuffiness comes from allergies, so you give a small dose of Benadryl and hope it will treat that symptom. Their muscles ache when they get colds, so you give a little bit of Motrin and a warm bath and hope the achy-ness goes away. There’s no agony like the muscle aches. I get them when I get sick in lieu of getting a fever. And they’re killer. You feel like you got hit by the train, the truck, and the ocean liner all at once. I liken it to feeling like you’ve been sucked into a jet engine and spit out.

And then yesterday, I tripped over the lawnmower and fell. I have bruises in the middle of blooming all over my feet and legs (I bruise very easily)…and it got me thinking…when I was younger, I could fall and shake it off. Once, we were playing flashlight tag/hide and seek in the dark. I was running and saw what I thought was a dark patch of grass. I went to leap over it just for poops and giggles, and suddenly found myself falling into a hole dug out to pour a foundation for an addition. I had bruises all over my body, sprained both ankles and my wrist, and had multiple cuts and scrapes all over me. In other words, I was pretty messed up. But I recovered quickly. The fall yesterday was nothing compared to that, and I am so sore it’s ridiculous. I don’t bounce back like I used to.

So that’s what’s been going on in my world. I am just completely worn. The Mister and I are travelling to my hometown tomorrow and my mama will have the WenchKids, so I will be getting a full night of sleep tomorrow night. I can’t wait. Oh, and we’re going to the Renaissance Faire, where the wine of the month is PA Dutch Spiced Apple. I may have to convince/beg Mister to buy me a bottle in thanks for doing the lawn on Wednesday because he was too sick (which I am also still recovering from). I was sick too, and in no shape to be mowing a lawn, but it had to be done.

And that’s what we sick moms do. We buck up and soldier on, because in all honesty, we really don’t have a choice.

Also, I got picked to review a Naturals VoxBox from Influenster, which should be coming any day now, so I’m looking forward to that, look for the review soon…and if you haven’t already, go check out Influenster…you can get free stuff to review!

Leave a Reply

