SlimKicker Site/App Review & Slow-Cooker Giveaway!!!

slimkickerlogo

I was asked to test-drive a new (FREE!!) weight-loss/dieting/exercise app and website called SlimKicker, and host a giveaway (details at the bottom!). For the past week, I have been having a ball testing it out!

What is SlimKicker? SlimKicker is a calorie tracking app that takes all your diet & fitness goals and turns them into a level-up game. You upload a picture of something you’ll reward yourself such as a pair of shoes, and when you reach a certain number of points, we’ll remind you to reward yourself with that. SlimKicker also has a recipe section for diets like Medifast and Weight Watchers.

I really like this app. I can enter in my food for the day, and it not only tells me about the calorie content, but also fat, sugar, sodium, and carb levels. It also lets you know if you’ve gone over a certain limit for the day. For example, on Wednesday, I had two cups of cauliflower with 1/2 T butter, and a coffee. Later on that day, I had half of a Bloomin’ Onion from Outback. I don’t think I’ll ever eat one again (though they are so good!!), because it tacked on 776 calories, 2,753mg of sodium, and 93g worth of carbs. Now, I really needed those calories to meet my daily minimum (a post on my weight-loss and dietary habits is coming soon), but it sent me way over the threshold for sodium and carbs. I have quite a few “calorie counting/exercise/diet” apps, and not one of them breaks it down quite like SlimKicker. A lot of people think that exercise and calorie counting is enough to lose weight, and it isn’t. You need to be mindful of where those calories come from and what other nutritional values those foods bring to the board, and SlimKicker will tell you all that.  Someone eating 1200 calories of Snickers bars is going to lose weight slower than someone who gets those calories from a plethora of foods that also provide other nutritional value.

There are also challenges on SlimKicker, for which you can earn points, and increase your level, challenges like giving up soda for a week, drinking more tea, meditating for a half hour, etc. You can set your own rewards for levelling up. I set myself a reward of a “cheat meal” when I reach level 5.

Nutrition and exercise experts weigh in (no pun intended!) on SlimKicker’s blog with entries about strength training for beginners, guides to eating, introductions to proper exercise and eating a well-rounded, nutritionally beneficial diet (without resorting to nibbling on celery all day).

At SlimKicker, they really do understand that maybe not everyone wants to go to the gym for two hours a day, every day. They get that not everyone has the time to do that. There are a ton of ideas to get moving that even my sedentary behind can get into.

The people at SlimKicker have also graciously decided to host a giveaway on my blog. It’s pretty simple to enter, there’s only 2 steps, and the prize, a Hamilton Beach 6qt Slow Cooker, is pretty awesome! The Mister got me the 7qt version for Christmas, and I absolutely love it!

1. Sign up for SlimKicker.
2. Leave a comment on this post with a Challenge suggestion, such as doing 20 push-ups a day for a week, or doing squats during a commercial break.

(This giveaway is limited to residents of the US. Must be 18 or older to win, void where prohibited. Contest is open until Friday, March 29th, 2013 @ 11:59p.m.)

You can find SlimKicker on Facebook, Twitter, and also on LinkedIn.

Disclaimer: I was asked to review the SlimKicker website/app and host a giveaway on my blog, however, the honest opinions expressed are my own and I have received no compensation, financial or otherwise for my review.

16 responses to “SlimKicker Site/App Review & Slow-Cooker Giveaway!!!

  1. Found this giveaway through wordpress today.. hmmm my challenge suggestion would be to not sit more than 8 hours a day. That can be challenging especially if u got a desk job 🙂

  2. my challenge would be to go for a 20-30 minutes walk at least 5 days per week

  3. Always take the stairs instead of an elevator.

  4. I park far away and walk

  5. I signed up for Slimkicker. My challenge would be to move around the office a lot during the day. I try to get up and walk to the copier and walk to others’ desk instead of calling.

    • Excellent idea! I used to work in an office and some of my coworkers would call someone who might be one or two cubicles away. I’d always walk, unless it was very minor.

  6. Walking around office in between phone calls!

  7. I would suggest walking everywhere that was close by and also taking extra time to walk around the block that you live on or taking the kids for a walk instead of driving them around. Also, try to cut out morning coffee and have juice or hot tea instead. Also, spend less time on our phones and more time on being healthy.

  8. My challenge is to exercise every day for a week.

  9. this blog is invaulabe or however you spell that lol very useful place.

  10. I don’t even know how I ended up here, but I thought this post was great. I don’t know who you are
    but certainly you are going to a famous blogger if you
    aren’t already 😉 Cheers!

  11. Thank you for sharing your info. I really appreciate your efforts and I will be waiting for your next write ups thank you once again.

Leave a Reply

