Gluten-Free Breakfast Cereal

gluten free breakfast cereal

I made a really delicious hot gluten-free breakfast cereal the other morning…
I know, I know, I’m not the first person to come up with a hot breakfast cereal. But it’s gluten-free…and it’s oatmeal…and it’s healthy.

You will need:
1/2 c flax seeds (I toasted mine in the oven for about 5 mins at 400 degrees, but you really don’t need to do that, unless you want to)
1 c steel-cut oats (make sure they’re gluten-free!)
4 c water
1 T butter
1/4 c vanilla protein (take your pick, whey, soy, etc., I used soy because it’s what I had)
2 oz. honey

Bring 4 cups of water to a boil, stir in oats, bring back to a boil, reduce heat and simmer for 15 minutes, add in flax and simmer for another 15 minutes. Stir in butter, honey, and vanilla protein, remove from heat and let stand for 5 minutes.

If you want, you can add in some butter and brown sugar to taste. It’s a really flexible dish, but I ate it as is. Steel cut oats have a delicious, nutty flavor and texture to them, and I found that the flax seeds really added another level to the flavor profile.

I had some leftover after breakfast, so the next day I stirred in 2 eggs, 1/2 c rice flour, and a splash of skim milk, and baked it in the oven (350 degrees) until the edges were brown and a knife in the middle came out clean (about 40 minutes). Voila! Baked oatmeal!

Leave a Reply

