Consumer Review: MyOatmeal.com – Napa Valley Joyride

myoatmeal.com, healthy, oatmeal, recipes, my oatmeal, custom oatmealI had the chance to review MyOatmeal.com, a site that offers custom oatmeal.

Customized oatmeal, folks. This isn’t your mama’s Quaker Strawberries n’ Cream instant oatmeal. This is healthy oatmeal for grown-ups. Well, it’s for kids too. But try going to your local store and buying instant oatmeal with currants, golden raisins, and Turkish apricots. It just isn’t going to happen.

I got to create 3 custom oatmeal recipes. The one I am reviewing today is the blend I dubbed “Napa Valley Joyride”…but in retrospect maybe a more fitting name would have been “Napa Valley Hayride”. This is a good thing, and I will tell you why. Napa Valley Joyride is made from the instant rolled oats, with normal amounts of currants, golden raisins, and Turkish apricots. I gave it that name because all three fruits can be made into very delicious wine. I like wine.

myoatmeal.com, healthy oatmeal, oatmeal recipe, oatmeal, my oatmeal, custom oatmeal

Look at that bowl of delish. Liquid around edge is milk. I like milk on my oatmeal.

Moving on. I prepared a bowl for myself, and let me just say how impressed I was with how much fruit was in this bag of oatmeal. I added a little bit of sugar to it, because believe it or not, oatmeal is one thing I don’t like extremely sweet, and I figured that the fruit would add its own sweetness. It was so delicious. There was a flavor note in it (possibly the currants), which made me think of fall, so the next time I made a bowl of NVJ, I added a half teaspoon of brown sugar, a dash of vanilla, and a light sprinkle of pumpkin pie seasoning.

Oh em gee. Autumn in a bowl. No joke. Hence the “Hayride” reference.

The site itself is easy to use. You can select from pre-made blends or create your own. There are 5 different oatmeal types to choose from, 51 flavors (Egg Nog! Creme Brulee! Cherry Cobbler!), 19 fruits, 3 types of sweetener (recommended if you get a flavor added…I chose not to add a sweetener to any bag because I tend to be a little picky about it),11 types of nuts and seeds (ie flax, chia, hemp, cashews, etc)…the possibilities are endless, and the only limits are the ones set by your imagination.

If you’re looking to shake up your breakfast (or any meal) routine, you should seriously check out MyOatmeal.com.

In addition to their website, you can find them on Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, and Instagram.

An aside note for my fellow people with Celiac Disease or gluten issues…They do offer a gluten-free oatmeal base, though they do point out that they cannot guarantee gluten-free status as they do have products containing gluten (5 Grain Rolled Oats with Flax and their Signature Smash Blend). I did not have any adverse reaction to any of the blends I made and I’m on the sensitive side of things, but that is just me.

Disclaimer: I received 3 bags of customized oatmeal from MyOatmeal.com, however, the receipt of product at no cost to me did not influence my opinion one way or another. I really think this oatmeal is awesome, and the opinions expressed above are 100% my own and 100% honest.

 

2 responses to “Consumer Review: MyOatmeal.com – Napa Valley Joyride

  1. Pingback: Consumer Review: MyOatmeal.com – Ginger Cashew Nog | ...and Baby Makes Five...

  2. Pingback: Consumer Review: MyOatmeal.com – Island Escape | ...and Baby Makes Five...

Leave a Reply

