Consumer Review: MyOatmeal.com – Ginger Cashew Nog

myoatmeal.com, healthy oatmeal, oatmeal recipe, oatmeal, my oatmeal, custom oatmealI had the chance to review MyOatmeal.com, a site that offers custom oatmeal. In a previous post, I review the first flavor I made, Napa Valley Joyride (Note to the people at MyOatmeal, if you want to take that blend and offer it using that name, I totally won’t mind. I was rather proud of it, haha), and in this post I will review the next flavor, Ginger Cashew Nog. 

As I stated in my first post, this is customized oatmeal, folks…it’s not your typical Strawberries n’ Cream instant oatmeal. 

I got to create 3 custom oatmeal recipes. My first bag was Napa Valley Joyride, a yummy autumnal batch that got its name from the fact that you can make wine from any of the fruit in it, and man oh man do I like wine.

Want to know what else I like, especially this time of year? Eggnog. I love eggnog.

So when I saw that one of their seasonal flavors was eggnog, I had to try it. Now, if you get a flavor added to your oatmeal, they recommend that you also choose a sweetener. They offer brown cane sugar, white cane juice crystals, and sucralose (Splenda). Being that I am rather picky about sweetness, I decided that I would add my own sugar at home. I chose to have cashews (my favorite nut) and crystallized ginger in the blend.

This was a solid, consistent, deliciously rib-sticking bowl of oatmeal. The eggnog flavor was exactly the right amount. Not overpoweringly strong, just strong enough to complement the ginger and cashews. I also sprinkled a tiny bit of cinnamon in it since I always sprinkle a little bit on my eggnog. Mmmm. If Napa Valley Joyride was autumn in a bag, then Ginger Cashew Nog was definitely December/Holiday Season in a bag. Perhaps they should offer NVJ and GCN along with Island Escape (review coming tomorrow, it has coconut, mango, and pineapple in it) as a season-themed 3-pack. 

The ginger. Oh gosh the ginger. I love ginger. Gingersnaps are my favorite cookie, hands down. I loved how the spice of the ginger added a teeny kick to the oatmeal, and it was so good. The bag is already gone. The only picture I snapped other than a picture of the bags is the picture of the GCN in a measuring cup, seen above. I promise tomorrow I’ll have more pictures for Island Escape.

The site itself is easy to use. You can select from pre-made blends or create your own. There are 5 different oatmeal types to choose from, 51 flavors (Tiramisu, Butter Rum…Horchata!!!), 19 fruits, 3 types of sweetener (recommended if you get a flavor added…I chose not to add a sweetener to any bag because I tend to be a little picky about it),11 types of nuts and seeds (ie flax, chia, hemp, cashews, etc)…the possibilities are endless, and the only limits are the ones set by your imagination.

If you’re looking to shake up your breakfast (or any meal) routine, you should seriously check out MyOatmeal.com.

In addition to their website, you can find them on FacebookTwitterPinterest, and Instagram.

Again, a note for my fellow people with Celiac Disease or gluten issues…They have a gluten-free oatmeal base, however, they do point out that they cannot guarantee gluten-free status as they do have products containing gluten (5 Grain Rolled Oats with Flax and their Signature Smash Blend). I did not have any adverse reaction to any of the blends I made and I’m on the sensitive side of things, but that is just me.

Disclaimer: I received 3 bags of customized oatmeal from MyOatmeal.com, however, the receipt of product at no cost to me did not influence my opinion one way or another. I really think this oatmeal is awesome, and the opinions expressed above are 100% my own and 100% honest.

One response to “Consumer Review: MyOatmeal.com – Ginger Cashew Nog

  1. Pingback: Consumer Review: MyOatmeal.com – Island Escape | ...and Baby Makes Five...

Leave a Reply

