Consumer Review: MyOatmeal.com – Island Escape

myoatmeal.com, healthy oatmeal, oatmeal recipe, oatmeal, my oatmeal, custom oatmeal

Island Escape before meeting up with hot water and a microwave…Yum!!!

I had the chance to review MyOatmeal.com, a site that offers custom oatmeal. In my two previous reviews, I reviewed the first two flavors I made, Napa Valley Joyride and Ginger Cashew Nog), and in this post I will review the final flavor I made, Island Escape. 

(Note: I have learned a valuable lesson. I think that when the school year starts up next September, I will hold off on arranging any reviews for the first month of school…this year so far has been rather chaotic, which is a tale for a separate blog post. Many, many apologies to Anthony at MyOatmeal.com for having this posted late.)

MyOatmeal.com offers pre-made blends in addition to allowing you to customize your own signature oatmeal recipe. One of the pre-made blends that looked really good to me was Todd’s Tropical Island Oatmeal

I got to create 3 custom oatmeal recipes. My first bag was Napa Valley Joyride, a yummy autumnal batch that got its name from the fact that you can make wine from any of the fruit in it, and man oh man do I like wine. Then came Ginger Cashew Nog, which I really should have saved (after making that first bowl) for a cold, snowy winter day. But I didn’t. And now it’s gone. 😦

Island Escape, the third custom recipe, gets its name from the blend of coconut, pineapple, and mango, all things found on a tropical island.

I love oatmeal. I just have to say that. But sometimes, it can be boring. Bland. And yes, too heavy. Island Escape is the perfect blend for when you want a lighter bowl of oatmeal. The tang of the pineapple and the sweetness of the mango bring a nice balance to the oats and lighten the flavor profile in addition to helping to ease the ‘thick’ texture/flavor of oats. I only added maybe a quarter teaspoon of sugar to it.

To kick the tropical flavor up to the next level, on my second bowl, I added about a quarter teaspoon of vanilla (to a half cup of oatmeal), and reduced the sugar amount.

Here is a picture after I cooked it (also after I had taken a few bites!):

myoatmeal.com, healthy oatmeal, oatmeal recipe, oatmeal, my oatmeal, custom oatmeal

It was so good!

I said this in my previous post:

If Napa Valley Joyride was autumn in a bag, then Ginger Cashew Nog was definitely December/Holiday Season in a bag. Perhaps they should offer NVJ and GCN along with Island Escape as a season-themed 3-pack.

And it’s very true. I had summer, fall, and winter in three bags of customized oatmeal blends.

From my previous post explaining what MyOatmeal.com has to offer:

The site itself is easy to use. You can select from pre-made blends or create your own. There are 5 different oatmeal types to choose from, 51 flavors, 19 fruits, 3 types of sweetener (recommended if you get a flavor added…I chose not to add a sweetener to any bag because I tend to be a little picky about it),11 types of nuts and seeds (ie flax, chia, hemp, cashews, etc)…the possibilities are endless, and the only limits are the ones set by your imagination.

If you’re looking to shake up your breakfast (or any meal) routine, you should seriously check out MyOatmeal.com.

In addition to their website, you can find them on FacebookTwitterPinterest, and Instagram.

Again, a note for my fellow people with Celiac Disease or gluten issues…They have a gluten-free oatmeal base, however, they do point out that they cannot guarantee gluten-free status as they do have products containing gluten (5 Grain Rolled Oats with Flax and their Signature Smash Blend). I did not have any adverse reaction to any of the blends I made and I’m on the sensitive side of things, but that is just me.

Disclaimer: I received 3 bags of customized oatmeal from MyOatmeal.com, however, the receipt of product at no cost to me did not influence my opinion one way or another. I really think this oatmeal is awesome, and the opinions expressed above are 100% my own and 100% honest.

Leave a Reply

