Consumer Review: Aspen Mulling Cider Spices

I was chosen by Mom-Spot.com (the site I guest blog for…though admittedly, the holiday season was so crazy chaotic that I have been absent for a while) to review Aspen Mulling Cider Spices.

spice, drinks, wine, mulled wine, mulling spices, mulled drinks, mom-spot.com, aspen, consumer reviews, review

The product came in single packages, and, being new to mulling anything, I was really excited to try it out. I opened it up and the aroma of cloves, nutmeg, and cinnamon immediately hit my nose. I love the scent profile those spices make, so I was even more excited to try it out. The instructions say to add it to 8 oz. of apple cider or juice, red wine, tea, or brandy. It can be served hot or cold. 

I have to admit, the contents of the package weren’t quite what I was expecting. I was expecting chunks of spice. There is sugar in it, and what appeared to me to be some flecks of a spice, perhaps cinnamon.

spice, drinks, wine, mulled wine, mulling spices, mulled drinks, mom-spot.com, aspen, consumer reviews, review

My sampling pack included four individual packets, so first, I went for the apple juice. I liked the little spice kick it added to my juice, but my apple juice was already naturally very sweet, so the sugar in the packet made it almost too sweet. Then I decided to try it in some wine. I’m not a big fan of red wines. I do like white merlot, which is lighter than most reds but still darker than say, white zin or other blush/roses. I added in a packet, and I loved how the sugar took some of the tart edge off the wine, and the spices added a truly delightful depth to the flavor of the wine.

My last two sample packages I decided to get a little creative. I love strong spice flavors. When I brew chai tea, I let it steep nearly twice as long, making the spices bolder than most people like. So I took what I had left of my white merlot and poured it into a small pot. I added four ounces of apple juice, a tablespoon of some mulling spices I’d picked up on clearance at Acme (25 cents!!!), and my last two packets of the Aspen Mulling spice mix. I brought the mixture to a simmer (the Mister stated that it smelled like I was boiling potpourri…I then asked him what he thought real potpourri was made from…certainly not wood chips sprayed with fragrance and color), and then strained it and poured it into a coffee mug.

Taste. Heaven. The beverage had the extra-super strength spice flavor, the apple juice and the Aspen blend added the perfect sweetness to it, and the fact that it was warm made it so incredibly amazing.

I’m not usually a fan of ‘mixes’ like Aspen appeared to be. I like to be able to see all the ingredients. I was excited to try this, and I’ll admit I was a little disappointed when I saw what was inside the packet, but you know what? It’s really good. And if you don’t have the time to let whole chunks of spices mull in a pot, then this is really perfect. You pour it into some apple juice or wine, nuke it for a minute to warm it up, and the flavor is quite comparable to the simmer pot method. I’d definitely get it again.

Note: The ingredients listed on the package are: Sugar, Dextrose, Natural Flavors, Caramel Color. There is a notice that this product is processed in a facility that also handles wheat, milk, egg, and soy. I have Celiac Disease, and I had no reaction at all from this product, however, I advise that any celiac proceed with caution.

Disclaimer: This post is a review for Aspen Mulling Cider Spices, and is in no way indicative of the opinions of Aspen Mulling, Mom-Spot.com, or anyone other than myself. The opinions expressed herein are 100% honest and 100% my own. I received no compensation for this post other than the four free packets I received to sample the product.

Leave a Reply

