Everyone Needs Sleep…

Sleep…most of us love it, everyone needs it…so why is it all too common to hear “I am so tired”? Many of us do not get enough sleep each night. The average range for what qualifies as ‘enough sleep’ is from 7.5 – 9 hours per night for an adult over 18. There are some people with a genetic factor that allows their bodies to function fine on six hours, but that’s only about 3% of the population. Even though some people swear they only need four or five hours, it’s been shown that they are setting themselves up for the effects of long-term sleep deprivation.

For the first 18 months of ToddlerBoy’s life, I averaged about three hours of sleep per night, and even then, those three hours were not consecutive. The constant sleep deprivation wrecked my health and my sanity. The best sleep I got during that time was the week I had my gallbladder taken out, because my mom took the kids to her house while I recovered. In short, sleep is pretty darn important, so I’ve put together a list of tips to help my fellow moms get the rest they need.

  1. Go to bed when the kids do. I know, I know… “But Merry, that’s when I have time for ME!!” Skip the ‘me’ time once or twice a week, mama…your body and mind will thank you.
  2. Have a nice soak in the tub beforehand. Scents like rose, chamomile, and calendula are good scents if you indulge in aromatherapy. I find lavender to be a soothing scent too, but some people consider it to be an invigorating scent. A nice warm bath will relax your muscles and get you ready for bedtime. However, I find that shower, even a hot one, will leave me wide awake for hours…so make it a bath.
  3. Your linens (sheets) do make a difference…and thread count numbers aren’t all that matters either. I have sensitive skin, so I tend to notice the texture of a fabric rather quickly. It’s why I have to wear a cami underneath even the softest wool. I had a rather stiff, almost rough bed sheet in college, and it actually made it hard for me to fall asleep sometimes, especially when my brain was already full and running at full steam. Labels can be misleading as well. Rule of thumb? If you’re in the store, feel the fabric. I’ve had some really comfy sheets that weren’t necessarily a high thread count. Most online retailers (like The White Company) also have hassle-free returns if you aren’t happy with what you purchased.
  4. Avoid caffeine and sugar before bed. I am the WORST offender of this rule. It is not too uncommon for me to have a cup of coffee or tea before bed. I say that the caffeine doesn’t affect me, and I don’t notice any effect, but whether you notice an effect from caffeine, it still affects the brain.
  5. White noise/soothing sounds can help your brain to shut up. It can be a pain to be waiting to fall asleep, and the whole time your brain is rehashing your day, plotting out your tomorrow, and worrying about things. Find some soothing music (wordless music is best, believe it or not, your brain won’t have any verbal input to process), keep it just loud enough to hear, and try to clear your mind. Easier said than done, I know. But it does help.

Disclaimer: This is a sponsored post for The White Company, for which I received a monetary compensation. However, as with all reviews, I did due diligence on The White Company, and found that they had many favorable reviews. Were finances a little freer, I would most likely order a new sheet set from them. Otherwise, I would not have agreed to write the post. All opinions expressed in this post are 100% my own honest opinions, and are not the opinions of The White Company, nor are they the opinions of any other entity/person other than myself.

Leave a Reply

